subscribe to our newsletter

Finance executives named in Queen’s birthday honours

The executive director of ME Bank and a former Westpac institutional head are among several recipients named in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

The Order of Australia is the primary means of recognising Australians who have contributed to Australia at a national level and comprises four levels: Companion of the Order (AC), Officer of the Order (AO), Member of the Order (AM) and Medal of the Order (OAM).

Announcing the Queen’s Birthday Honours List, Governor-General David Hurley said: “In this list we see all the positives that are in our community – we see the great ideas, we see the hard work, we see the love and compassion for fellow human beings – it’s a microcosm of Australia.

“This list recognises a group of outstanding Australians who have made a contribution to their community, to Australia globally or domestically. Their efforts have been noted by their peers, they’ve been nominated and assessed independently as worthy of recognition.”

Included in the list this year were 710 recipients in the general division of the Order of Australia, including three ACs, 50 AOs, 200 AMs and 457 OAMs, as well as 128 meritorious awards.


ME Bank and Lonsec non-executive director Christine Christian was named AO for distinguished service to the financial and investment sectors, to women in business, and through support for emerging entrepreneurs. Ms Christian is also chairman of Kirkwood Capital and deputy chairman and non-executive director of FlexiGroup.

Property developer and executive chairman of the Central Equity Group Eddie Kutner was awarded the AM for significant service to the property development and financial sectors, and to science.

Chair of AMP Funds Management Ming Long was also a recipient of the AM for her significant service to the financial and real estate sectors, and to diversity and inclusion.

Independent non-executive director of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia (CBA) and director of NSW Treasury Corporation Robert Whitfield was awarded the AM for significant service to the banking and finance sector, and to public administration.

Mr Whitfield previously had a 30-year career with Westpac where he held various senior management roles, including CEO of the institutional bank, chief risk officer, group treasurer and chairman of the Asia Advisory board. He is also a former deputy chair of the Australian Financial Markets Association.


Jenny Tiang, former senior lawyer, investment managers and superannuation, at the Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) and former senior counsel at Vanguard Australia was the recipient of the OAM for her service to the financial and investment sectors, and to the community. Ms Tiang is currently special counsel at Hive Legal in Melbourne.

Former CBA general manager Stuart Woodward was awarded the OAM for his services to the banking and finance sector, and to the Uniting Church of Australia. Mr Woodward is currently the chair of the Uniting Church Assembly Finance, Audit and Risk Committee.

Former chairman of venture capital fund at Allen & Buckeridge and current deputy chairman of ICM Agribusiness Ralph Evans was awarded the AO for distinguished service to international trade and investment, and to business and venture capital endeavours, and to the community.

Former UBS executive and current senior adviser at Australian investment and advisory house, Gresham Partners, Peter Scott was awarded the AM for significant service to the investment banking sector, and to medical research organisations.

During his tenure at UBS, Mr Scott held roles such as managing director, and then vice chairman, investment banking. Prior to UBS, he worked at Centaurus Corporate Finance and at Merrill Lynch (which acquired Centaurus in 1997).

He was an active member of the Australian Takeovers Panel from 2002 to 2014, and of the New Zealand Takeovers Panel from 2008 to 2014.

Recipients will receive the insignia of their awards at investiture ceremonies from the Governor-General at Government House in Canberra. The ceremonies are usually held in September.

[Related: Association head named in Queen’s honours list]

Finance executives named in Queen’s birthday honours

Are you a new-to-industry broker in the process of growing your business? Then there’s some great news: The Adviser’s New Broker Academy is back in 2021 and will provide you with essential insights into cutting-edge tools, strategies and processes to fast-track to success. Don’t miss your chance to attend. To secure your FREE place, visit newbroker.com.au now!

Malavika Santhebennur

Malavika Santhebennur is the features editor on the mortgages titles at Momentum Media.

Before joining the team in 2019, Malavika held roles with Money Management and Benchmark Media. She has been writing about financial services for the past six years.

Latest News

Home ownership costs jumped by 130 per cent over two generations, with Gen X spending a quarter of their income servicing their loan, accord...

Fintech lender Tic:Toc has secured $25 billion of additional funding for the next seven years, after extending a partnership with Bendigo an...

The non-bank lender has closed its first RMBS deal under the Bluestone Prime program, worth $700 million. ...

Join Australia's most informed brokers

Do you know which lenders are providing brokers and their customers with the best service?

Use this monthly data to make informed decisions about which lenders to use. Simply contribute to the survey and we'll send you the results directly to your inbox - completely free!

How long do you think it should take to discharge a mortgage?

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.