realestatebusiness logo

Subscribe to our newsletter

New shadow cabinet appointed

The leader of the opposition has announced his shadow cabinet, which includes a reshuffling of the ministers in charge of finance, housing and small business.

Following the announcement of the Coalition government’s new cabinet, the new leader of the Australian Labor Party (ALP), Anthony Albanese, has now announced the appointments to Labor’s frontbench. 

Announcing the frontbench on Sunday (2 June), Mr Albanese said that the appointments have “the talent and experience to hold the Morrison government to account and develop a policy platform worthy of the support of Australians at the next election”.

“My team includes a blend of experienced former government ministers, as well as talented newcomers whose enthusiasm and fresh ideas will reinvigorate Labor over the next three years,” he said.

Mr Albanese added that the shadow cabinet includes members of all parts of the nation and “reflects society”, given that half of the cabinet are men and the other half women (when including shadow cabinet secretary, Senator Jenny McAllister).


Several positions have been retained by members of Bill Shorten’s cabinet, such as shadow minister for education and training Tanya Plibersek MP and leader of the opposition in the senate and shadow minister for foreign affairs, Senator Penny Wong.

However, Ms Plibersek is no longer deputy leader of the opposition, with this title being taken up by the shadow minister for defence, Richard Marles MP.

Further, the former leader of the opposition, Bill Shorten MP, is now shadow minister for government services and shadow minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

New finance team

Notable changes for the finance portfolio include the departure of Chris Bowen, the former shadow treasurer, who has become the new shadow minister for health, while Dr Jim Chalmers MP has taken over as head of the shadow treasury.

Dr Chalmers was previously shadow minister for finance in Mr Shorten’s cabinet, but this position has now been filled by Senator for the ACT Katy Gallagher, who has also been named shadow minister for the public service. She is also manager of opposition business in the Senate.

In the outer shadow ministry, Stephen Jones MP has moved from his previous role of shadow minister for regional communications to become shadow assistant treasurer and shadow minister for financial services.

He takes the role on from former frontbencher Andrew Leigh, who has taken up a backbench position as shadow assistant minister for treasury and shadow assistant minister for charities after failing to gain factional support for a cabinet position.

Confirming his appointment on Twitter, Mr Jones said he was “honoured to be appointed as Labor’s shadow assistant treasurer and shadow minister for financial services”.

“Ensuring the economy is working for the benefit of all Australians and the recommendations of the banking industry royal commission are implemented are our priorities,” he said.

The Financial Services Council (FSC) has welcomed the new shadow appointments, and congratulated the “new look shadow treasury team on their appointments to key opposition economic portfolios”.

FSC CEO Sally Loane said the organisation looks forward to working with the shadow treasury team, in particular with Mr Jones in his new role as assistant shadow treasurer and shadow minister for financial services.

“The financial services sector is working hard to honour commitments to consumers following the Hayne royal commission recommendations,” Ms Loane said.

She continued: “We encourage the shadow ministry to broadly consult with industry and focus on policies which ensure better consumer outcomes and also grow the economy and jobs.

“We sincerely thank outgoing shadow treasurer Chris Bowen for his significant contribution to financial services and economic policy over many years.” 

The shadow ministry will meet for the first time on Tuesday in Brisbane, and ministers are expected to “disperse into communities across the nation” soon after.

The full shadow cabinet is now:

Hon Anthony Albanese MP
Leader of the Opposition

Hon Richard Marles MP
Deputy Leader of the Opposition
Shadow Minister for Defence

Senator the Hon Penny Wong
Leader of the Opposition in the Senate
Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs

Senator the Hon Kristina Keneally
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate
Shadow Minister for Home Affairs
Shadow Minister for Immigration and Citizenship

Hon Tony Burke MP
Shadow Minister for Industrial Relations
Shadow Minister for the Arts
Manager of Opposition Business in the House of Representatives

Hon Bill Shorten MP
Shadow Minister for the National Disability Insurance Scheme
Shadow Minister for Government Services

Hon Tanya Plibersek MP
Shadow Minister for Education and Training

Dr Jim Chalmers MP
Shadow Treasurer

Hon Mark Butler MP
Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy
Deputy Manager of Opposition Business in the House of Representatives

Hon Chris Bowen MP
Shadow Minister for Health

Hon Catherine King MP
Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development

Hon Joel Fitzgibbon MP
Shadow Minister for Agriculture and Resources

Senator the Hon Don Farrell
Shadow Special Minister of State
Shadow Minister for Sport
Shadow Minister for Tourism
Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader of the Opposition

Hon Mark Dreyfus QC MP
Shadow Attorney-General
Shadow Minister for Constitutional Reform

Michelle Rowland MP
Shadow Minister for Communications

Senator Katy Gallagher
Shadow Minister for Finance
Shadow Minister for the Public Service
Manager of Opposition Business in the Senate

Hon Linda Burney MP
Shadow Minister for Families and Social Services
Shadow Minister for Indigenous Australians

Hon Julie Collins MP
Shadow Minister for Ageing and Seniors
Shadow Minister for Women

Hon Brendan O’Connor MP
Shadow Minister for Employment and Industry
Shadow Minister for Science
Shadow Minister for Small and Family Business

Hon Jason Clare MP
Shadow Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government
Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness

Hon Amanda Rishworth MP
Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education
Shadow Minister for Youth

Terri Butler MP
Shadow Minister for the Environment and Water

Madeleine King MP
Shadow Minister for Trade

[Related: PM’s new cabinet welcomed by banking, property industries]

New shadow cabinet appointed

Annie Kane

Annie Kane is the editor of The Adviser and Mortgage Business.

As well as writing about the Australian broking industry, the mortgage market, financial regulation, fintechs and the wider lending landscape – Annie is also the host of the Elite Broker and In Focus podcasts and The Adviser Live webcasts. 

Contact Annie at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Latest News

The brokerage has teamed with the fintech, for the launch of a new app that will let borrowers compare pricing and environmental impact acro...

The desire to secure a mortgage has collapsed across the country, according to a new analysis from Equifax. ...

The Reserve Bank will be closely watching how households respond to higher rates as it decides its next move, ANZ senior economists have sai...


Join Australia's most informed brokers

Do you know which lenders are providing brokers and their customers with the best service?

Use this monthly data to make informed decisions about which lenders to use. Simply contribute to the survey and we'll send you the results directly to your inbox - completely free!

What is the maximum proportion of income borrowers should use to service a mortgage?

Website Notifications

Get notifications in real-time for staying up to date with content that matters to you.